The sleep medicine doctor called with test results from my polysomnography…

  1. Mild obstructive sleep apnea (OSA)

    According to the National Institutes of Health, mild OSA is defined by 5-14 episodes apnea (no breathing) an hour.

    See here to learn more about the different types of sleep apnea from Alaska Sleep, a very readable website run by a sleep clinic.

    I stop breathing 5-14 times an hour… and this does not count as a qualifying comorbidity according to my insurance. My bariatric surgeon requires that any sleep apnea be treated, so even though I am disappointed that this doesn’t help me with my insurance, I am happy to get treatment. Like I said before…Better sleep and a reduction of dangerous risk factors that can shorten my life significantly? I am totally down for it.

  2. Restless legs syndrome and periodic limb movement of sleep

    According to the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, “Restless legs syndrome (RLS) is a neurological disorder characterized by throbbing, pulling, creeping, or other unpleasant sensations in the legs and an uncontrollable, and sometimes overwhelming, urge to move them.”

    Go here or here for more information on RLS… or here for PLMS.

    This was not an expected diagnosis! Yet, I guess I knew about it already. This was detected by the electrodes on my leg muscles throughout the night and is a neurological condition that is super obnoxious.

  3. Premature ventricular contractions (abnormal heart beats often referred to as PVCs)

    Let’s look to the American Heart Association… “Premature ventricular contractions (PVCs) start in the lower chambers of the heart (ventricles)… an extra beat comes sooner than normal.”

    Go here or here for more information on PVCs.

I will be obtaining a CPAP over the next few weeks. First, the clinic will arrange for me to rent and CPAP machine and humidifyer based on the doctor’s order. My insurance requires consistent usage of the device over three months before my benefits will cover a CPAP. The doctor said this is a very common insurance requirment. To prove that I am using it appropriately, both for my insurance coverage and to meet my surgeons requirement, I will need to turn in a memory card from the CPAP which will show my actual usage. This information will be downloaded and submitted to my insurance company and uploaded to my chart.

