I am trying very hard to maintain my BMI of 47.9 while I am waiting for my sleep study to be scheduled.  I could really use a second co-morbidity so that if my weight drops significantly I won’t be disqualified by my insurance.

BMI 48.0 – 271
BMI 45.0 – 255 lbs
BMI 40.0 – 226 (cannot fall below a BMI of 40.0 at any point during the next five months.)

This has left me thinking on BMI… and how much I hate them. What is a BMI?

According to the National Institutes of Health, a “body mass index (BMI) is a measure of body fat based on height and weight that applies to adult men and women.”

http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/educational/lose_wt/BMI/bmicalc.htm

This is allegedly a good indicator of a person’s risk for diseases and in my opinion is an utterly ridiculous measurement for a healthcare professional to use. Why? Take the following scenarios…

A is a sedentary, soft woman who enjoys Final Fantasy and sewing. She is 30 years old, blond, with large hips and a small bust. At 5 feet 6 inches and 160 pounds, she is overweight with a BMI of 25.6

B is extremely active, she would consider herself an athlete. At 49 she enjoys extreme sports and is training to climb Mt. Everest. She is a brunette with hazel eyes, muscular thighs, and a large bust. At 5 feet 6 inches and 160 pounds, she is overweight with a BMI of 25.6.

BMI does not consider muscle mass, age, or build and therefore it should never be used to calculate your risks alone. It is also not an indicator of self-worth, so please, tell that BMI to bugger off. Besides, your quality of life is a better indicator of your health than the quantity of other people’s stupid in relation to your weight.

 

